A single EAC tourism visa established

  • One of UTB staff attending to visitors at the Karibu Fair

    KAMPALA - From the recently concluded Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair held at the Magereza open grounds in Arusha, Tanzania in which Uganda was represented by the Uganda Tourism Board, the East African Community (EAC) sectoral committee on Tourism decided to market East Africa’s tourism collectively.

    A single EAC tourism visa has been established for Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania, other regional countries yet to join.

    Each of these countries will be charging $50; the move is aimed at boosting the region’s tourism and ease the financial strain faced by budget tourists who have to pay multiple visas.

    It is possible that that the region shall have a single regional tourist visa since it has managed to develop a single customs union thus far. As the regional common market protocol is continuously being implemented.

    The campaign to have a single EAC visa followed a call by tourism boards in the EAC partner states for the speeding up of the promotion of the region as a single tourist destination. Therefore, the recent fourth meeting of the EAC Sectorial Council on Tourism and Wildlife Management, held in Mombasa, came as a relief to many as it reviewed progress on the establishment of a single EAC tourist visa.



Latest News

External links

Share this on

| More